ISLAMABAD (Adeeb Kakar): The Election Commission of Pakistan has decided to hold by-election on National Assembly’s nine constituencies on 25th Sept 2022 which were vacant due to resignation of Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf MNA.

The Election Commission has issued schedule of by-election on nine seats of National Assembly. As per the ECP schedule, Returning Officers will issue public notice on 06 August. Candidates will submit their nomination paper from 10 August to 13 August. The name of nominated candidates will be published on 14 August. The interested candidates will file appeal against RO’s decision of accepting or rejecting of nomination paper.

Appellate tribunal will dispose of the filed petition by the candidates then revised list will be reviewed by the RO. The candidates will withdraw their nominations from by-election on 27 August. Election symbol will be provided by the RO on 29 August and voter of the constituencies will cast their vote on 25 September.

The ECP has also been issued a schedule of National Assembly women reserved seat from KP province due to exhaustion of the list earlier provided by the PTI.

According to the ECP schedule, PTI will provide a priority list of the candidates before 13 August in Provincial Election Commissioner office at Peshawar, Muhammad Farid Afridi, has been appointed as a Returning officer. List of contesting candidates willbe public on 29 August 2022.

These are the constituencies where by election will be held on 25 September; National Assembly; NA-22 Mardan II, NA-24 Charsadda II, NA-31 Peshawar V, NA-45 Kurram I, NA-108 Faisalabad VIII, NA-118 Nankana Sahib II, NA 237 Malir II, NA-239 Korangi Karachi I, NA-246 Karachi South I.

Punjab Assembly, one of constituency PP-209 Khanewal vacant due to resignation of Muhammad Faisal Khan Niazi. By-poll will be held on 2 October 2022.

ECP rejected the statement of PTI leader Fawad Chaudhry

ECP has also been rejected the statement of PTI leader Fawad Chaudhry who said that ECP did not accept their members resignation which was based on falsehood.

Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri wasn’t sent the resignation of the PTI parliamentarians, however, these 11 members resignation letter was sent by present Speaker, ECP said.

ECP clarified that as per law electoral body would have obligation after resignation by-poll will be announced in 60 days and EC was accepted all resignation letter as per law.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.