ISLAMABAD (Sports Reporter):- The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) and Cricket Australia (CA) on Friday announced a revised itinerary for the Australia men’s cricket team’s tour of Pakistan during the current calendar year.

The tour — which will be Australia’s first in 24 years — is set to start and end in Rawalpindi with the opening Test to be played from March 4-8 and the four white-ball matches to be played from March 29 to April 5, a statement from the PCB said.

Australia last toured Pakistan in 1998 when Mark Taylor’s team recorded a 1-0 win from the three-Test series.

The tour will comprise three Tests, three ODIs, and one T20I.

The change in the first Test venue means that the second Test will be played in Karachi from 12-16 March and the third in Lahore from 21-25 March.

“The schedule has been revised to ease logistical and operational challenges as well as to avoid Pakistan Day rehearsals, which usually commence in Islamabad in the second week of March,” the statement said.

The statement said the two cricket boards have also agreed that the Australia Test side will complete their isolation in Australia, before arriving in Islamabad on 27 February on a chartered flight. 

After a one-day room isolation, team Australia will hold training sessions at the Pindi Cricket Stadium, the statement read. 

Australia’s white-ball players are expected to arrive in Lahore on 24 March following isolation in their home country.

After a one-day isolation upon arrival, they will integrate with other members of the side and travel to Islamabad for the first ODI in Rawalpindi on 29 March, the statement said.

The Tests will be part of the ICC World Test Championship, while the ODIs are linked to the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League from which the top eight sides, including hosts India, will qualify directly for the 2023 50-over World Cup. According to the new schedule, the Australian Cricket Team will arrive Islamabad on Feb 27. The First test will be played in Rawalpindi during 4.8 March, 2nd test will be played in Karachi on Mar 12-16 and 3rd test will be played in Lahore on Mar 21-25.

The 3-ODI serious will be kicked off on March 29 in Rawalpindi. 2nd and 3rd ODIs will be played on March 31 and April 2 in same venue Rawalpindi.

The on T20 cricket match will be played on April 5 in Rawalpindi between Pakistan and Australia Cricket teams. The Guest team will be departed on April 6 for homeland.

As per the previous schedule, the tour was set to begin on March 3 in Karachi, but now it will kicked off on March 4 from Rawalpindi. 

Karachi was originally scheduled to host the first Test, Rawalpindi second, and Lahore third. But now, Pindi will host the first Test, Karachi second, and Lahore third.

Similarly, the ODIs and T20I were scheduled to be played in Lahore, but now, they will take place in Pindi.

By adminmy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.